Oct 22, 2019  
2008-2010 Undergraduate Catalog 
2008-2010 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Hierarchy

Contact Information

Phone: 401.865.2292
Fax: 401.865.1192
Location: Phillips Memorial Library

The Faculty


Brian M. Barbour, Ph.D.
Charles F. Duffy, Ph.D.
Anthony M. Esolen, Ph.D.
Bruce E. Graver, Ph.D.
John F. Hennedy, Ph.D., Emeritus
Peter M. Johnson, Ph.D.
Norma Kroll, Ph.D.
Stephen J. Lynch, Ph.D.
Jane Lunin Perel, M.F.A.

Associate Professors

Chard deNiord, M.F.A.
Suzanne J. Fournier, Ph.D., Chairperson
William P. Hogan, Ph.D.
Margaret K. Reid, Ph.D.
John T. Scanlan, Ph.D.
Raphael Shargel, Ph.D.

Assistant Professors

Elizabeth A. Bridgham, Ph.D.
Richard J. Murphy, Ph.D.
Epaphras C. Osondu, M.F.A.
Robert W. Reeder, Ph.D.
Ewa J. Slojka, Ph.D.
Robert E. Stretter, Ph.D.
Tuire M. Valkeakari, Ph.D.

The Major

The English major requires 30 hours (10 courses) of major course work for graduation in a curriculum designed to help students develop the skills of close reading and analytical writing. The Department of English also serves the College community in a variety of writing courses and in the Development of Western Civilization Program (regular and Honors). It assesses English proficiency for all matriculated students and serves majors with a wide variety of traditional and creative courses and formats.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Hierarchy